Love


You waited
With your eyes, with your ears,
your face

I paused and I wept
The one to leave and let go

Home was you.

For love and for touch

She was rare, my child, my friend

A friend in need, my need for love

Happy and wet
Soft and mellow
Claws and tongue

Known so many dark and golden
Nooks and shadows
Rain and winters

Behind curtains, on top of the bed, inside the kitchen and in my dreams

You
are love

Like family, like meows
You loved us
Trailed us
Smelled our scent

Remembered us

Came just to sit beside us

You,
You are love

love

Leave a Reply

