The crickets who helped me unpack

 

There is a lone cricket in the room and he is talking to me

He is asking me why I’m not talking about the real things

Why I continue to pile boxes on my memories

He cleans his slight legs as he asks me again 

In a lovely sing song calmness I haven’t felt the whole long day

Why are you piling these boxes, Miss? 

Isn’t it time to un-blur the eyes 

And open them up

One by one

He helps me

He helps me open each flap 

Gawking in tender silence 

No words, only chirping wings 

Silently croaking hyms of love 

How else would my hands stop shaking

As I keep opening more boxes

I hear more crickets 

He’s called his friends

They’re cheering me on

They say I can do it

Damnit I can go back to the memories of hot tears that still make me tremble and break my days into sleep sleep and sleep

They keep going

Yes yes

My hands keep saying  yes yes 

Am I there yet

Am I remembering Yet

The crickets go silent for a bit 

And all I hear is the dead silence of the nigh and before I can jump sounds 

The OG cricket smiles at me

And says in a kind of kindness 

I haven’t heard even from the ones who promised to love me

‘You don’t have to open all the boxes on the same night ‘

Leave a comment